Missouri Phone Number Lookup

Missouri Area Codes and Their Locations

People are more likely to accept calls if they recognize the area codes where the calls originate from. Knowing the different area codes in Missouri can prove helpful in detecting fraudulent or unsolicited phone calls and avoiding phone scams and robocalls. Using reverse phone lookup services to identify unknown callers is also useful for avoiding scammers.

An overview of area codes in use in Missouri is shown below:

314 - Location
417 - Location
573 - Location
660 - Location
636 - Location
816 - Location

Who Controls Missouri Area Codes?

The authority responsible for the management and implementation of area codes in the State of Missouri is the Missouri Public Service Commission. Area codes assigned to Missouri are only valid for implementation in Missouri. Regions that have exhausted their allocable telephone numbers, but require additional numbers, are assigned area code overlays.

Where is Area Code 314?

Area code 314 is the telephone area code that serves the City of St. Louis and most inner-ring suburbs in neighboring St. Louis County. It was one of the original area codes introduced in 1947.

Where is Area Code 417?

Area code 417 is the telephone area code that serves the Southwestern quadrant of Missouri, including the cities of Branson, Carl Junction, Carthage, Joplin, Lebanon, Neosho, Nixa, Ozark, Springfield, and West Plains. It was introduced in 1951.

Where is Area Code 573?

Area code 573 is the telephone area code serving most of the Eastern half of Missouri outside the immediate St. Louis area. It covers the Northeastern corner of the state, the Lake of the Ozarks to the West, and Doniphan to the Southwest. It also serves all of Southeastern Missouri (including the Missouri Bootheel area) and areas adjacent to the Mississippi River. It was introduced in 1996.

Where is Area Code 636?

Area code 636 is the telephone area code that serves east-central Missouri, mainly the metro area of St. Louis excluding the city of St. Louis, and most of St. Louis County. It also covers parts of the community of Chesterfield, Fenton, and all of Washington, Union, De Soto, Troy, St. Charles, Jefferson, and Warren counties. It was introduced in 1999.

Where is Area Code 606?

Area code 660 is the telephone area code for Northern and Western Missouri. It covers the major cities of Brookfield, Kirksville, Marshall, Maryville, Moberly, Sedalia, and Warrensburg. Other locations covered include Boonville, Clinton, Fayette, Lexington, Macon, Rock Port, Salisbury, Trenton, and Warsaw. It was introduced in 1997.

Where is Area Code 816?

Area code 816 is the telephone area code for Kansas City, St. Joseph, and all or part of 15 surrounding counties in northwestern Missouri. Major cities covered include Blue Springs, Gladstone, Grandview, Independence, Liberty, Platte City, Raymore, and Kearney. It also covers such cities as Archie, Belton, Cleveland, Freeman, Garden City, Harrisonville, Pleasant Hill, and Savannah. It was one of the original area codes introduced in 1947.